A new direction , maybe – and Johns Cage and Berger

 

Post New York I have been looking at a lot of Art. Exhibitions and books. I have been picking through Every Day is a Good Day:  The Visual Art of John Cage,  the catalogue for the Hayward traveling exhibition which is sadly not traveling anywhere near me.  And today whilst working on No. 33  of my RN Drawings I have been listening to Cage’s pieces for Violin and Piano. I also bought  Bento’s Sketchbook, John Berger’s imagined drawings of what might have been in the lost sketchbook of the 17th century philosopher Benedict de Spinosa.  Promises to be utterly fascinating.  Working on another new drawing, large, already time-consuming and complex, based on a sketchbook drawing made from the top of Bolus Head in the Ballinskelligs in Ireland, I needed to revisit Kathy Prenderghast’s work.  So I dipped into The End and the Beginning, which has quite a few of her love city mapping drawings in it, though they are so delicate they are difficult to photograph and consequently difficult to see in reproduction. So a productive day in the studio, at last, lots of reading and I’m off to London at the weekend to engage with the Tracey Emin at the Hayward so watch this space!

My most recent exhibition roundup is on isendyouthis art-diary, link in the side bar.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

