St Finans Bay

Another grey, dull, misty day. I drove to St Finans Bay. The waves were tumultuous, good for surfing I should think but there were notices everywhere warning of dangerous currents. I was accompanied onto the beach by three dogs who seemed to be guarding me from the waves. They stayed very close.

I found a dead cormorant or possibly a heron caught in a fisherman’s net and I did some drawings of the waves. Back up on the cliff top, the tide was coming in fast, one dog stayed with me. I drew the jagged rocks on the beach, which were leaning backwards, layered, like tombstones.

I drew in the studio in the afternoon on big sheets of Hot Press Fabriano 4 using some of the short sharp lines which are appearing in my sketches.

Later I watched the sun go down and the late evening light hitting the islands lit up their vegetation.



Leave a Reply

