Beginning

The months of waiting to set off on my journey to the Ballinskelligs in Kerry to do a residency at The Cill Rialaig Project are nearly over.  I am almost packed; loads of drawing stuff, sketchbooks, canvases, Agnes Martin’s Journal, books on Eva Hesse’s Drawings, Cy Twombley, Brice Marden and Yeats.  I bought a torch this morning but need to buy a map.  I have no preconceived ideas about what I am going to do when I get to Cill Railaig apart from look and walk.  I invite you to accompany me on this journey.

10 Responses to “Beginning”

  1. katebeckstudio Says:

    Dear Fiona

    I am so pleased to know that you have arrived. I have seen your photos and sketches — seems so perfect for you. I feel very good that across all these miles you and I are at ocean’s edge, sorting out our visions. I am very happy for you, and full of anticipation.

    Best,
    -Kate

  2. fiona Says:

    Hi Kate
    The sea and the light are amazing. I am looking out across all that water – next stop America!
    F

  3. forkhandles Says:

    Glad you packed me in your bag F! That water you’re looking at is pretty special – did you know that water holds the memory – liquid crystal perhaps….Dr. Imoto would certainly say so! To have a beginning is so wonderful….to not have a beginning, is miraculous!
    Andrew

  4. fiona Says:

    Hi Andrew
    Delighted to hear from you. I didn’t know that water holds memory – interesting new dimension for me. They do say that miracles happen in Ireland.
    f

  5. annabelwilson Says:

    Hi there
    It is great to be able to get a preview of what you are doing. An astounding landscape and a beautiful place to be. Inspiration for months and months and months…… I await with anticipation what develops for you from this time.
    lol Annabel xxx
    http://www.townhillstudio.co.uk

  6. fiona Says:

    Hi Annabel
    I am in awe of this landscape and the people who managed to survive here. Exciting things are already happening with my drawings. Keep watching.
    f

  7. drawinglady Says:

    looking forward to travelling with you
    Rachel

  8. katebeckstudio Says:

    Hey — I love the thought of water holding memory, too. So when I look out across my sea I will think of other things — right now, mostly you! I am so interested to know how this journey will manifest itself through you, Fiona.

    Hope the weather is beautiful!

    -Kate

  9. fiona Says:

    Hi Kate
    The weather is interesting! Mostly wet and often very grey. But I like grey!
    f

  10. fiona Says:

    Thanks Rachel. I think it will be an interesting experience -I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

